iPhone is going to have to go..

· chowwiwang's blog

Last night I updated to the iOS 18 Beta to see things. Part of that update was their new password manager, just called Passwords. Nice they did that for normies I guess, but I'm not interested in being absolutely locked into Apple products with my passwords, so, I removed the app.

After a bit I noticed my password manager wasn't coming up when I needed it. Maybe I have to make it default again after the update? So, in my search to put it back I realized the option to set your default password manager is gone. It seems we are stuck with Apple's or jumping through hoops to use our own. This may be the final draw.

I just can't accept being so locked in. I love my iPhone. Hardware wise I feel it's much better than most Android phones out there. But their facist tactics to lock us into their world are just going to far. Luckily I do have a Pixel 7 Pro at home. I'm out of pocket till the weekend, but once I'm home I will be moving my main number back to that phone and moving everything over. At least I have seperated myself a bit already and don't depend on much Apple stuff. I use Ente for photos, the whole Proton suite of apps, pCloud for files, StandardNotes for notes, and Kagi for search.

I'm just done with Apple.